#IWSG: Do I Dare!

This is an #IWSG Blog Hop where writers and want-to-be writers share their knowledge, received feedback, reveal their fears, and know they can present ideas that may be way out in left field and never receive the merest snicker from an IWSG members. Well, maybe a smirk!

Our Twitter handle is @TheIWSG and hashtag is #IWSG.

The awesome co-hosts for the April 3 posting of the IWSG are Janet Alcorn, T. Powell Coltrin, Natalie Aguirre, and Pat Garcia! Be sure to visit many of the other IWSG members’ post; such fun.

April 3 question – How long have you been blogging? (Or on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram?) What do you like about it and how has it changed?

How long? Since my first novel was published (2007), I’ve been on a learning curve on how best to utilize the various formats (Is that the correct word?) for the purpose of marketing. Frankly, I’m lousy at it, as well as all other forms of promoting my books. I attempted to hire someone to help promote my books but he said I was too old. OMG!

DO I DARE: Perhaps you haven’t met my cheerleader, “Croak.” I’ve presented that question to the green mud dweller, “Do I Dare?” to test Croak’s reaction. He can’t lie to me. Having full knowledge of my limitations, any hint of a smirk is a clear indication to rethink.

I’m referring to the non-existent sequel to my two suspense/thrillers – Forbidden and The Kingdom of Gods.

Many readers of both books have encouraged me to write the sequel. One month ago, I gave a neighbor a copy of Forbidden. She called to inform me that she didn’t like Forbidden. I could not breathe! Then she said she loved it. “And when is the sequel going to be ready.”

Both books’ ending had a few loose ends. The bad guys retreated and were assumed to be out of action. It seemed enough for the hero and heroine to escape with body and soul intact. Well, except for the disaster of “XXX’s” death. My conscience has been needling me about not properly finishing off Madame and Omega.

Here’s the thing. I don’t have enough years left to tackle both sequels within my allotted time on this earth. Sorry, I’m not a fast writer – ask my editor. In another ten years, my body may still wander the aisles of Winners, but the brain could very well be on a permanent holiday.

A short while ago, an inspiration presented me with a solution.

I hesitate to reveal to you, my dear fellow authors and readers, the madness of what I am planning. To test the idea, I’ve begun writing the outline. I now know why I never got excited about writing the sequel for my books. Something was missing.

The plan – the sequel for both books will be done in one outrageous and exciting book – Nothing Left to Lose. I say exciting because since I started to write the outline, I’ve been on an emotional high. The finale is begging to be told. I see the characters of both books joining forces to accomplish the absolute resolution. The antagonists, Madame and Omega, have resurfaced for a final showdown with the Guardians and Captain Sharif; the plot’s path is unexpected, even pushes the reader’s boundaries of what is possible. Survival requires trust in a different reality. The ending? Just wait!

Have you combined two books? Any pitfalls I should be prepared for? Or should I instead knit another afghan?

Here’s what Croak thinks.

6 thoughts on “#IWSG: Do I Dare!

  1. Anonymous

    We are never too old to do ANYTHING!!! Put together your books AND knit an afghan. Why? Because you can!!! 🙂 At the age of 65, Laura Ingalls Wilder published her first book. This info keeps me writing.

    Teresa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mlouisebarbourfundyblue

    Too old? Give me a break. I’d like to meet that person who you tried to hire, Judy! Absolutely dare! I worry about time running out too, but for sure I’m going to make the most of it. I love your cheerleader Croak! I think you plan is dynamite. I’m right there with Croak! Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment