IWSG: My Anal Brain #IWSG

unnamed (6)

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

 

The awesome co-hosts for the February 1 posting of the IWSG are

 

February 1 Question: How has being a writer changed your experience as a reader?

 

My experience is mixed. Reading isn’t as much fun as it used to be.

Prior to my life as a writer, I read mostly non-fiction – adventures of explorers, saturated my brain with new age stuff like books on meditation, philosophy, Buddhism, etc. On trips to exotic beaches, I’d read a few titillating romance novels, hoping no one would catch me blushing.

Now, while expanding the range of my preferred reading genres, there are so many novels that I can’t read to the last page. Errors in novels stand out like a glowing neon sign. It interrupts my focus on the plot and characters. If there are too many errors, or poor construction of the plot, or shallow characters, it spoils the reading experience. My critiquing brain does not turn off. Even while reading a very well written novel, part of my brain is on the hunt for spelling errors or a misplaced comma. Yep. Pretty anal!

The good side of having an over-achieving critique brain is I discover what works, and what kills a story. And I’m ever so grateful for my editor.

PS: Thank you to all you wonderful people who participated in my Thunderclap event. I was blessed with 154 supports, with a combined reach of 411,732.

 download
12 thoughts on “IWSG: My Anal Brain #IWSG

  1. I’m with you – except it actually makes me happy to see typos in very good books because it’s proof that NOTHING in this world is perfect (and makes me not feel so bad about the typos that I’m sure live in my books).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t know what the Thunderclap thing was, but congrats. Sounds like it went well. The neon sign thing is an apt description. I’ve read some books that many say are terribly edited, but I read them back before I learned how to write and edit. Bottom line, im afraid to reread them. 😊 Great post!

    Like

  3. My pet peeve is dialect that doesn’t ring true and so spend so much time trying to make the words sound right that the sentence is meaningless. Example using “yo” for “you”. Okay, I’m going over and over it already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

