#IWSG: When do you know your story is ready?

http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/
http://www.insecurewriterssupportgroup.com/

#IWSG: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

October 4 Question: When do you know your story is ready?
I’ve been asking that questions for a while. Recently, someone told me that when you’re  no longer in love with the story, that’s the time to consider wrapping it up in a pretty bow and sending it off to the editor, or maybe even to the publisher, or, hells bells, why not do the selfie thing. It’s possible there is no clear point at which you know it cannot get any better and you’ve done your absolute best work. Tweaking can go on and on. In my painting lessons, I was told to not fiddle, fuss, or ? or you’ll ruin it all. Perhaps the best way to determine when your manuscript is ready is to decide if you change a word, phrase, etc. will it make a difference to the reader’s level of enjoyment. Probably not. Best to get on with your next novel.
The awesome co-hosts for the October 5 posting of the IWSG are Beverly Stowe McClure,Megan Morgan,Viola Fury,Madeline Mora-Summonte,Angela Wooldridge, and Susan Gourley!

Don’t forget to check out the guidelines for this year’s IWSG Anthology Contest!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “#IWSG: When do you know your story is ready?

  1. I’m one of those odd people where I fall more in love with my stories as I edit. 😉

    So usually I try to see if I’m actually changing things during edits. When I’m not, I’m probably done.

    Like

  2. Nice post, Judy. When you’re no longer in love with it? How’s the reader suppose to be i you’ve lost that loving feeling? I feel it’s done when I sit back and go Yesssss!

    Like

  3. Your painting analogy was a great one, Judy! I’ve watched a painter in my family fiddle and fuss over a painting and ruin it ~ really bad with watercolors which are not forgiving. You can certainly get too fussy with a piece of writing. That falling out of love with a piece of writing is an excellent rule of thumb. Thank you for sharing it!

    Like

  4. That’s a really good comparison with painting. I do think it’s possible to over-fiddle with a story. Sometimes you just gotta let it go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

