#IWSG – There’s a Wolf Staring at Me

unnamed (6)

The awesome co-hosts for the April 6 posting of the #IWSG are:

Megan Morgan, Chris Votey, Viola Fury, Christine Rains, Madeline Mora-Summonte, L.G. Keltner, Rachna Chhabria, and Patricia Lynne!

Please do visit their blogs and many others listed at IWSG. Here you will find the greatest bunch of writers, talented and supportive. If you’re a writer, you’ll receive a treasure trove of hints on how to succeed. If you’re a reader, you’ll discover the business of writing is not all glory. Often, it’s quite the opposite.

DSCN0600 (2)

My Writing Cave

There’s a wolf staring at me. Every time I have an impulse to play a round of online poker instead of editing more of Forbidden, I see those fierce eyes daring me to stray. Those beautiful eyes, those penetrating peepers drill into my conscience. He never utters a word, but I get the message.

“Okay,” I mutter, “another paragraph. Happy?”

Am I angry? Not really. I adore Sir “Ernie” Shackleton. He inspires me to think outside the box. He’s my, “What if,” who spirits me away from formula writing. His fire and passion is woven into every scene. Forgive me for being weird, but there are times I would rather be his mate, running wild and free, than be a writer.

Lately, I really hate being an author. How long must I  suffer the insatiable urges to create, to imagine, to study, to write, to perfect? Damn it, the demands to please agents, publishers and editors has been overwhelming. When will this madness find satisfaction?

DSCN0547Oh, let me introduce you to my muse, Bart, reclining under my monitor. He’s got a silly grin that makes me smile.

“Hey, pretty woman.” His Spanish accent and sultry expression makes me blush. “Perhaps you could breathe more better if  you’d undo some of those buttons on your police uniform shirt. No?”

He’s reminding me that Captain Sharif is about to be executed and I’d better ramp up his police instincts.

“Bart, you’re a sick froggy,” I snicker.

Along with Ernie Shackleton and Bart, are images of a polar bear, a stormy seascape, a woman with her horse, and Hawaii’s Diamond Head. All these things evoke vivid memories. I tumble through a tunnel of rapture alternating with pain and terror. My past, my survival, my ghosts, planted the seeds of The Guardian’s Wildchild and Forbidden.

An inspirational message sits just to the right of my monitor. “You are today where your thoughts have brought you. You will be tomorrow where  your thoughts take you.”

Yep, I need an attitude adjustment. When I wrote The Guardian’s Wildchild, it was fun. I would write for hours, forget about eating, or returning phone calls. This past year, writing has become, ugh, a job. Lately, I’ve been writing hoping to please everyone out there.

“Stupid woman, but I love you,” says Bart.

I blow a kiss to my faithful tormentor.

“Hey, you. Come on over to my cave and try out my new sheep skin rug?” softly growls Ernie.

Ernie speaks? I can see by his come hither expression that he’s got something enticing on his mind. My eyelashes flutter in his direction. Maybe a little diversion will help. Guess where I’m going? Forbidden can wait. I feel a new fantasy thriller in the works.

download

I’m admitting to burnout. If you’re in the same boat, check out this article at Live Write Breathe.

7 STEPS TO AVOIDING AUTHOR BURNOUT

24 thoughts on “#IWSG – There’s a Wolf Staring at Me

  1. Write first to please yourself, then let your work find its natural audience. Agents, editors, and publishers are all just middlemen coming between you and your readers. If they don’t like your work, you can always publish it yourself. Hope you recover from burnout soon!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sandra. Last year a publisher asked me to reduce the number of pages significantly. Their rationale was that it’s easier to sell a shorter story than one that’s over 100,000 words. I did as they asked believing they would publish Forbidden; they had no other objections to my manuscript. However, after a year of rewriting, I sent the shorter version; they decided it was not for them. My enthusiasm took a serious hit.

      This week I looked over the manuscript again and wondered if my frustration was based on having removed so much of the story that I felt was essential. I began to ‘play’ with some of the scenes and felt the passion for writing return. I think you’re absolutely correct. I will write for myself. The length of the story should not be based on marketability but on what’s best for impact of the plot and character development. I’m not one who believes in padding a story (I really dislike that). But, some stories deserve greater length.

      So, I’m applying for my ISBN numbers. Now I have to decide on whether to publish with Createspace (USA), or, since I’m Canadian, publish with Friesen Press (I’d rather have the printing done in Canada to save on shipping print books to me).

      I think I’m back in the groove. Writing this post helped me sort out what was at the bottom of my discontent and blue mood. And, your comment, “write first to please yourself,” gave me a surge of gas to vanquish the burnout. Thanks so much. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your writing space, your wolf and your muse. Burnout or not you will miss them if you don’t visit and interact the way you did in your post. I do hope you feel renewed and energized again soon. I also like the title of your work The Guardian’s Wildchild, sounds like something I would want to read.

    Loved your quote I had to swipe it for my quote file. Quotes inspire me. I collect them.

    Happy Writing
    Juneta @ Writer’s Gambit

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Juneta: Thanks for stopping by and commenting. When I began to connect online with other writers I didn’t appreciate how valuable a resource they would become – until a short while later. Everyone has been great in providing information and suggestions for other connections. However, the best part of all? The feeling of community. I think I might have quit writing if not for the encouragement from all of the great writers at IWSG. Blessings.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. The Guardians Wildchild is a “must read” every page an unsuspecting adventure, suspense and thrill, laced with heart warming romance.
      I absolutely loved every page and keep hoping that someday there will be a sequel.

      Like

  3. LOL I love your saucy Muse, and all your pictures. Sometimes writing does seem like a task, especially all that comes with it and all the people you have to ‘impress.’ When it becomes like that for me I try to remember that the joy is in writing itself and try to focus on that. Good luck!

    Like

  4. I think at some time or another, we all get a good case of the “burn outs”. I’m never sure what to do. I will however be checking out the article at Live Write Breathe! Thank you! Your co-host Viola Fury, aka Mary

    Like

  5. What a lovely writing space! It’s so neat and bright. You have demonstrated tremendous patience by querying and rewriting, and maybe all that waiting has burned down your fire. Maybe taking action through self-publishing will re-ignite your passion. What does the wolf say? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Heehee, sounds like you have some good coaches behind you.

    It’s hard to balance listening and learning with shutting everyone else the hell out and creating. I think about chucking the publishing thing daily – but there’s something deep down inside that won’t let me. Not yet. Damn it.

    Like

  7. I can’t wait to read FORBIDDEN and hope we can pre-order soon.
    As for your writing muse hinting at another fantasy thriller, I wait with baited breath to see if by some tiny chance it is the sequel to The Guardians Wildchild? ?

    Love your inspirational Wolf and your cute frog and so glad you have decided to write and publish FORBIDDEN your way.

    Wishing you every success ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

