Book Launch: A Clueless Woman by T.B. Markinson

b078f2221d6ec0463539f01708b9e727I am so pleased to introduce to you an exciting author I recently discovered. T. B. Markinson is a breath of fresh air in her writing style. Readers will find themselves drawn into the characters’ dilemma immediately. While I’m an action, suspense, thriller junky, TB hurled me into her character driven novels. I enjoyed the intense drama of every character. The emotional waves are saturated with both the light and dark aspects of people struggling with real life troubles. I love the peppering of humor. And though the main characters are lesbian lovers, readers of all sexual orientation will enjoy T.B Markinson’s novels. The writing is clear and concise. No need to skip over redundant paragraphs or wording. I’ve given her novels five star rating on Amazon.

 

Today, T. B. Markinson is introducing the launch of

A Clueless Woman.

 

ACluelessWoman (3)A Clueless Woman Blurb:

Graduate student Lizzie Petrie feels more comfortable around books than people. Although an expert in the Hitler Youth, she’s a novice in love. Her former lesbian lover is blackmailing her, and not even those closest to Lizzie know the full story of their abusive relationship.

When visiting high school English teacher Sarah crosses Lizzie’s path at the campus, their attraction is instant, but not without complications. As they start to spend more time together, suspicions arise from both women in this sexy piece of LGBT fiction.

Plenty of good-natured teasing takes place between lovers as well as between PhD students in this lesbian contemporary romance. No relationship path ever runs smoothly, and oftentimes, those who can’t keep their mouth shut hasten necessary confrontation.

Lizzie finds herself buried in a mess of lies in this romantic comedy. The harder she tries to keep Sarah and the rest of her friends from finding out the truth about her first girlfriend, the more endearingly clueless she becomes. See excerpts at the bottom of this post. Please do share.

51gPi8UEBVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_My Review of  A Woman Lost:

I’ve been looking for a book of a different genre to read, expand my reading experience away from suspense and crime. Woman Lost was a wonderful read. Although I wouldn’t normally chose to read romance between lesbians, I found this story very entertaining. The romance between the two women was believable and heart warming. What I appreciated was that the erotic components didn’t rule the chapters. There is a deep and complex story with complex characters. And what a twist at the end. Bravo, TB Markinson. The author’s talent for telling a story was evident in how she captivated me right from the start. There is an easy flow and clarity that I truly appreciated. I have signed up to read and review The Miracle Girl. Given TB Markinson’s excellent writing and superb talent in telling a story, I’m looking forward to reading The Miracle Girl. Check back to see my review.

416i1EAWD1L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_My Review of The Miracle Girl:

T. B. Markinson’s writing talent is incredible. While I prefer high impact action stories, her romance novels draw me forward into the plot. This is the second TB Markinson novel I’ve read and they are both intense character driven stories. Regardless of your sexual orientation, reader’s will be swept away with the author’s attention to detail of each of the characters’ personality traits, both the light and the dark. Victims of their past, some are haunted and crushed by regrets. The reader is drawn into their struggle, their search for a future too impossible to hope for.

 

 

TB Markinson

About T. B. Markinson:

B. Markinson is an American writer, living in England. When she isn’t writing, she’s traveling the world, watching sports on the telly, visiting pubs, or taking the dog for a walk. Not necessarily in that order.
Recently I entered the world of self-publishing with my novel, A Woman Lost. Follow me on my indie publishing adventure on tbmarkinson.wordpress.com. Follow my challenge to travel to 192 countries, read 1,001 books, and watch AFI’s top 100 movies on 50yearproject.wordpress.com

 

Mailing List: Get the first book in the series, A Woman Lost, for FREE by signing up to TB’s Readers’ Group here.

Links:

Twitter        Facebook        Blog        Goodreads     Amazon Author Page

 

A Clueless Woman – Excerpt One:

“I feel like a lady of the night.” Meg crammed the wad of twenties I’d just furtively handed over into the pocket of her jeans. “Of course, if things don’t turn around for me soon, that might be my future calling. Do ya think William would pay to sleep with me? He was never shy about his desires.”

I assumed she’d added that juicy detail about my colleague to bait me. No, to remind me of what she was capable of and to keep me in line. Years of falling for her self-pity and emotional blackmail had taught me to steel myself and ignore Meg to the best of my ability, but I still found myself saying, “I can’t keep handing over wads of money.”

“Why? We both know you aren’t even close to draining your trust fund, not even a quarter of it.” Meg leveled her deep-green gaze on my face.

“I’m not responsible for you.”

“Responsible for me?” She laughed, bitterly. “Have you been attending Al-Anon meetings or something?”

I sighed. “I need to go.” I hoisted my book bag over my shoulder. Meg feigned lunging at me, and I jumped back. We were in an alley behind a coffee shop, and Meg was blocking the street exit. The door to the coffee shop didn’t have a handle, and I assumed it could only be opened from the inside. I moved back, against the wall, inching closer to safety.

“Must be nice to have the luxury of being a student.” Her abrasive smile alerted me to tread carefully. My mind flooded with memories of invoking Meg’s wrath. She crossed her arms, revealing she had no intention of budging. “How are William and Janice? It’s been a long time since I was welcome to join the weekly study sessions.” Her eyes lit up. “Hey, I know. I bet William would pay big bucks for me to tell him all about us.” She ran a finger down my face, and I willed myself not to cringe. “The things you used to do to me and what you begged me to do to you.” She reached for my belt buckle, but I backpedaled, much to her delight. “I bet that’d get him off.” She squared her shoulders. “Or you could just meet me next week.” Meg patted the wad in her pocket.

“Fine.”

A car horn blared, and Meg spun to view the commotion, allowing me to sidle past. Once out of harm’s way, on the sidewalk, I turned. “Keep going to your meetings, okay?” I said.

Meg’s eyes softened but then quickly coalesced into anger. “Get off your high horse, Lizzie. You aren’t perfect. And don’t forget”—she stabbed a finger in the air—“next week.”

 

A Clueless Woman – Excerpt Two:

“Do you think I’m pathetic?” I asked Ethan as he added gobs of sugar to his Starbucks house blend.

He dipped his head almost a foot and peered at me through his spectacles. “How am I supposed to answer that?”

“Honestly. Do you think I’m pathetic?”

Ethan maneuvered his lanky frame past three untidy tables and I followed, grimacing at the messiness of the place, until we settled on one that was almost clean. It was a little after ten on Saturday, and although it was quiet now, the early morning rush must have taken the staff by surprise. Two teenagers leaned against the counter, dazed and confused.

“Okay, what’s got your panties in a bunch this morning?” Ethan set down his coffee, took off his coke-bottle thick glasses, and cleaned them with a cloth.

“The other night, William and Janice got on my case about how long it’s been since I experienced The Big O.” I didn’t bother whispering the last part. Aside from the employees behind the counter, the place was deserted.

“The Big O?” He hitched up one of his thin eyebrows.

“You know. In bed.”

“Oh, you mean the last time you had an orgasm.” He wiped both eyes with his fingers before replacing his glasses. “And?”

“And what?”

He snorted. “When was the last time?”

I scratched my chin. “Not sure really. Meg.”

“That was well over a year ago.”

“Good grief. Not you as well. For someone who doesn’t like sex, I didn’t think you would gang up on me, too.”

“Gang up on you?” He laughed. “I’m just curious.” He ignored my comment about not liking sex. With the exception of coffee, Ethan disliked fluids of all types, but especially bodily fluids. It made me wonder how he’d managed to get married. “And their comments got you thinking?” he added.

“Yes. I mean no. Maybe,” I stammered. “I just keep thinking about it.”

“About what? The Big O or not having anyone in your life?” As usual, Ethan hit the nail on the head.

“Just the other day, I ran into one of my former professors. This guy is ancient, in a wheelchair, and he smells like an old person who’s about to move on to the next world. Out of the blue he started telling me about how he and his lady friend went to the movies. I was flabbergasted. How did he have a lady friend? I don’t even have a pet. Not even a goldfish.”

“Do you want a lady friend?” Ethan’s tone bordered on teasing.

 

A Clueless Woman – Excerpt Three:

“Well, well, well. What do we have here?” If Meg hadn’t been standing right in front of me, I would have recognized her snide tone, even despite the fact that she’d dyed her once-blonde hair a rich, fiery red. “Getting drunk on a school night. Shame on you, Lizzie. What would Dr. Marcel say?” Meg’s companion helped her slip into a coat. Hopefully, that meant they were leaving and pronto.

Approximately 150,000 people lived in Fort Collins, and the one person I didn’t want to bump into ever, let alone with Sarah, was peering down at us.

“Hello,” was all I could force out.

Meg’s gaze wandered over Sarah’s face and upper body before settling on me. “What happened to only drinking at home?” She crossed her arms.

“I’m afraid I’m a bad influence.” Sarah came to my defense.

“I see.” An older man tugged on Meg’s arm. She wore a tight dress—not her usual jeans and J. Crew sweater. And she was with a man—very unusual. “Have a good night, Lizzie.” She turned each Z in my name into a weapon. “Oh, I’ll be calling you to discuss that financial situation you brought up last time.” She gave Sarah a final glare and rolled her eyes. Red-hot anger raged through my mind and body as I clamped my lips together to keep everything bottled inside. How dare she treat Sarah so flippantly?

I counted to ten before I said, “I’m so sorry.”

Sarah’s eyes darted across the room to where Meg and her companion were exiting into the darkness. “Is she a friend?”

I snorted. “Former …” I’d been about to say girlfriend, but instead added, “acquaintance.”

“I’d use another word for her.”

I let out a rush of air. “Really? What would that be?”

One thought on “Book Launch: A Clueless Woman by T.B. Markinson

Leave a Reply

