Beyond Lust. Beyond Passion. Beyond Romantic Love.

dancingHave you experienced a moment that went beyond lust and passion?

I only saw the back of his shoulders, a hint of grey in his dark hair, perhaps a bit of his profile – one that would describe most average male white Anglo Saxons. He stood at ease, hands at his sides. I noted his casual clothes, items one could purchase at any middle class department store. There was no hint of cologne. No trace of style in his movements or personality in his carriage. He appeared so non-nondescript that I thought it odd that I even had noticed him at all. And then, I heard his voice. Deep and mellow.

As I continued to pass beside him, something startling shook me to my core. It was as if I had been absorbed into a current of erotic passion. It possessed me. My entire body lost its boundaries – both physically and morally. Sensations fired up my erogenous zones. Only through the momentum of rushing toward my office was I saved from a humiliating display of wantonness.

Even as I pushed through my office door, a vortex attempted to pull me back to him. I felt the tingle of silver thread, an ethereal umbilical cord, continued to excite every part of my body.

I never saw him again. If I had, I wasn’t sure I could have remained loyal to my marriage vows. What I felt was beyond lust or passion. I wouldn’t call it romantic love. After the sensations ebbed to an afternoon glow, I continued to feel connected to the stranger on a deep level, beyond the physical.

Women create images of their ideal mate, outline the man’s character, personality traits. We write / read books where we fall in love, surrender to the erotic pleasures performed by the hero. We hunger for that perfect man.

Though I saw so little of this man, I knew this stranger did not resemble my ideal hero fantasy. Perhaps that’s why the bliss felt undeniably authentic. Even eternal.

Have you had a sensual experience, or any other encounter that changed your views about love, life?

Enter your name in my rafflecopter (giving away $50 Amazon gift card, signed print copy of The Guardian’s Wildchild, travel mug, crystal). And, the ebook of The Guardian’s Wildchild is only 99 cents at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Simon & Schuster. This special price ends October 25, 2014.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 thoughts on “Beyond Lust. Beyond Passion. Beyond Romantic Love.

  1. Absolutely fantabulous Feather.
    I loved this post and can so relate.
    You should turn this into a novel. Really you should. I’d definitely pre-order and going to keep this on my wish list in the hope you will write this story …. please ❤

    Like

  2. Ah, yes. I can see it now, a novel of a writer hunting for the stranger that made her knees weak one afternoon, LOL. Thanks for the vote of confidence, Phoenix.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

