Magic Realism – How I ‘See’ It. Win an ecopy of The Guardian’s Wildchild

magic realism Zoe Brooks from Magic Realism Books is hosting this thought provoking blog hop. “Magical Realism is a literary genre that incorporates fantastic or mythical elements into otherwise realistic fiction.”

That’s a mouthful, and you may still be confused about how a book might be placed into the genre. No doubt everyone may have a slightly different take on this.

For me, it’s not that complicated. I’ve been living in a state of magical realism since my youth. It’s a gift passed down from my mother. We have had bizarre experiences, unexplainable events – all without the use of drugs or other mind altering substances.

And, furthermore, I believe everyone has these ‘gifts’ but either ignore the experience, or account for the bizarre event through scientific jargon or religious beliefs. Maybe even superstition comes into play for dealing with the event.

My first novel, The Guardian’s Wildchild, is a fiction novel that includes some of my mystical and magical experiences. Though I’ve never taken the time to control my gift (well, I managed to stop it when it began to interfere with my busy life), I have become acutely aware of the power of intention. Our mind has power that we have yet to understand fully. Perhaps when we (human race) mature into our mystical abilities, we will be able to move mountains – literally.

I met my spirit guide. I was walking home from school. I saw the stranger walking ahead of me. When I caught up to him, he began to talk with me. Surprise! He knew my name and stuff about my life. At the time I wasn’t sure what had just happened. As I matured, it became blissfully clear – particularly when I was drowning in a lake.

I had thrashed until completely exhausted. I sunk to the bottom of the lake. I accepted death. Then his voice came, saying, “If you stand, you can breathe.” I did as he beckoned.

In The Guardian’s Wildchild, the heroine has a close relationship with Seamus, her spirit guide. Her mentor, Greystone, teaches her how to do space/time travel. Telepathy and telekinesis is her play time. Easy peasy for Sidney Davenport. In every other way, she is a human as you and I. No warts on her nose, no magic wand, no vampire teeth to suck blood from a victim.

She does have an enemy, actually several. Her most lethal enemy is a gifted Guardian who has ‘fallen’ from the sacred truths and is in cahoots with Madame, an insane and evil woman.

I’m curious. Have  you had any magical experiences that you enjoyed, wanted to do again but didn’t know if you should? I’d love to hear about your experiences and what you thought about it. Be sure to pop on over to other bloggers talking about this fascinating subject.  Be sure to enter your name in my rafflecopter for a chance to win an ecopy of The Guardian’s Wildchild.

MAGIC REALISM BLOGHOP 2014
This post is part of the Magic Realism Blog Hop. Twenty blogs are taking part in the hop. Over three days (6th – 8th August) these blogs will be posting about magic realism. Please take the time to click on the link below to find out about the other posts and remember that links to the new posts will be added over the three days, so do come back to read more.

Click on the Rafflecopter link below for a chance to win an ecopy of The Guardian’s Wildchild.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

7 thoughts on “Magic Realism – How I ‘See’ It. Win an ecopy of The Guardian’s Wildchild

  1. I do, but I am weirdly suspicious about putting names to things or even thinking about them at all in case I literally break the spell. Mine are more to do with things just working out unexpectedly, pr coming together at the perfect moment. Then again, maybe by not thinking about them directly, I am not allowing them to grow. Hmm, you have gone and made me need a ponder about this.

    Like

  2. Really interesting blog post and great to see how your experiences have influenced your writing. People sometimes ask me whether I knew a lot personally about mediumship to write Equilibrium, and it’s an interesting question for writers and readers about where authenticity is derived from. Does it make it easier to write authentically when you have had an experience of something, and how much more help is that when you are writing about something more unusual, like the spirit world?
    Evie Woolmore

    Like

  3. Thank you for your comments allonymbooks and davidmbeecroft. David, in my humble opinion you cannot break the spell. The energy of creation comes from your soul, your intention. Sometimes we think our conscious thoughts are the source of power. However, our thoughts are quite changeable daily, or by the hour. Our inner voice is more constant, though that also changes as we mature. At your core is your source, some people call is god or the one most high.

    Great question, allonymbooks: Does it make it easier to write authentically when you have had an experience of something, and how much more help is that when you are writing about something more unusual, like the spirit world?

    Writing is fun, and the more a writer can ‘let the horses go free’, that is, not be restricted to what we know, the more creative the process. It’s a bit of a double edged sword. Fiction must be written so that readers can relate. So while I might like to write about what I know of the spirit world, a reader may become frustrated in not being able to feel or understand that scene, at a deep emotional level. And, there are so few words in the English language that can describe the actual magical, mystical higher dimensions. It’s a huge challenge to write mystical realism authentically and still keep the reader feeling like he/she is part of the story, a partner to the characters, committed to the resolution. Reviewers have loved The Guardian’s Wildchild so it appears I managed that well enough.

    Thank you everyone for your comments. I truly enjoy hearing from readers and authors. Blessings.

    Like

  4. I have a sister and a daughter who are both what I would call “sensitives” in that they can sense, even see, spirits and my sister also is slightly prescient. I have had only two experiences, one out of body episode when I was five and a visit from my just deceased mother-in-law. The first scared the pants off me and the latter was very comforting. So , while I do not dwell there I do belive there is more to this world than the obvious.

    Like

  5. Lovely post, and fascinating to read about your experiences and how they shape your writing. That feeling of there being a whole “Other” experience that lies just out of reach most of the time but can then, sometimes, be touched, is what fascinates me most about this genre.

    Like

  6. Re magical experiences – well there was the ouija board from school but I don’t know if that counts! The mother of a friend would dream about her relatives’ deaths before hearing they’d passed on. A thought provoking post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

